Seafood Boil

I’ve been wanting to have a seafood boil for a long, long time and I finally got my chance to have one last Sunday.  We went to a certain seafood restaurant last month and were extremely disappointed by the food and the service so I’ve decided that if I’m ever craving for seafood, I’ll just make it myself.  Too bad Chong’s allergic to shellfish so he wasn’t able to have any–but he did have roasted pork and duck so he wasn’t complaining.

Chong and I went shopping and got fresh lobsters, dungeness crabs, shrimp,clams and chorizo at Dragon Star (an Asian grocery store).  We also bought some sweet corn from the Farmer’s Market.  I found my mom’s huge pot and threw some fresh-from-the-garden carrots and sweet onions.  I also cut up a few lemons and threw them in, along with 1 bottle of Heineken, since that’s all we had on hand.  And there was lots and lots of salt.  Brought that to a boil and added my potatoes and sweet corn.  Then added the lobsters and crabs (and yes, Chong killed them before adding them into the pot), clams, shrimps, and sausage.  35 minutes later, everything was cooked.  We ate outside, on a newspaper lined table, and everything was delicious!


And this is what we had for dessert: lychees and rambutans.  Rambutans are my favorite fruit.  Their flesh is thicker than the lychee and has a sweet and tart flavor.  The annoying thing about eating rambutans is the seed–which looks similar to an almond.  Lychees have this strange aftertaste for me so I’m not that big of a fan.

8 comments so far

  1. Anonymous on

    i appreciate you sharing your recipes with us. keep them coming. i always come to your page for updates. again thank you for sharing.

    • adoseofmee on

      Thanks. I’ve been busier this year compared to last so it’s harder to update but I’ll do my best.

  2. So on

    Yums!

  3. Rebecca Lee on

    Hi, My daughter also allergic to shellfish will get rashes if she eat too much seafood that is her no. 1 favorite !! During her last visit, someone told her about the leaves that Indians use to hang above their house can easily found as Govt of Penang planted along the street !! Boil it with some water and bath — dilute it with cold water and all her rashes gone !!

    • adoseofmee on

      That’s interesting, thanks for sharing. I’ll have to look into that more since Chong loves seafood and always eats it even though he knows he shouldn’t.

  4. Rebecca Lee on

    Please don’t over cooked any seafood !! For prawns, only 1-2 mins after you dropped them in !! Once you see the color changed, it is cooked !! Try to bake the crabs as all your guests will love it !! I did that ( Penang sold this type in the restaurant but nowadays they boil then bake, so not so tasty ! ) your friend will say you’re the best cook !! My China relatives came and I baked 50 crabs and all of them still thinking of the baked crabs !! Wash the crabs well and drain for 10-15 mins ( soak in water before you wash ). Arrange the stomach side onto the spoiled wok then cover it. On the fire for 10 mins then turn them over and remove all strings and the legs that dropped off — still can eat !! Then bake in the wok for another 15 mins or until you smelly a very nice burn smell !! Make you don’t burn the crabs to dry !! You can add in some coarse salt in the wok if you like it to be Baked salted Crab as I have not done it before. You can use a spoiled pot too as long as it has a cover !!

  5. Rebecca Lee on

    Oh yes, NEVER eat crabs with Beer !! Both are ” cold = 寒 “. So those body is 寒 and more 寒 food go into side so will get sick !! Best to boil some crushed ginger withChinese brown sugar drink to eat with 寒 food !!


Leave a Reply

