Wonton Noodle Soup & Oreo Cheesecake

Hello!  It’s been a while since I’ve last blogged.  Life has surely been busy.  Anyhow, I’m just sharing some random food pictures I made this past month.  First up is a wonton noodle bokchoy soup.  This is actually the second time I’ve made this soup–the first time didn’t turn out as yummy.  It’s really easy to make.  I will definitely do a video or pictorial on this so stay tuned!

Plain wonton noodle bokchoy soup

 

With all the trimmings–soy sauce, garlic chili sauce, cilantro, and green onions

For the wontons, I used ground pork, corn starch, salt, black pepper and shaoxing wine because I wanted it plain.  I used dried Kung Fu noodles and cooked it in water for 3 minutes.  I blanched the bokchoy and gave it an ice water bath after it was cooked.  I forgot what I used for the broth–it was either a pork or chicken broth.  Added the condiments and it was delicious.

I made a fresh batch for breakfast the next day and took it to work in my Tiger thermos bottle.  After 2 hours of sitting in the thermos, the noodles had become soft and silky and even more delicious.  This is a great dinner/breakfast option to make for those cold winter days that are coming soon.

 

My brother, Wit, loves anything Oreo and cheesecake.  He wanted to buy an Oreo cheesecake but I told him I’d make him one.  So I kept my promise and baked him one.  Boy, baking that cheesecake sure was time consuming but it was well worth it.

Took me 15 minutes to whip everything together

Pre-baked

Baked, with a sour cream topping

Oreo crust and another layer of crushed Oreos in the middle

Care for a slice?

Mmmmm….mmm!  This was good but Chong and I couldn’t didn’t want to finish our half so I brought 1/4 of it to work.  Next time, if I ever decide to bake another Oreo cheesecake again, I’ll mix the Oreo with the cheesecake and see how that turns out.  I love cheesecakes but it’s too fattening so I’ll only bake it once in a blue, blue, blue moon.

Happy eats!

 

2 comments so far

  1. Foreverblueskies on

    I made some wonton soup for my in laws last week and they loved it. 🙂 I’m subscribing to your youtube channel.

    • adoseofmee on

      I love wonton soup; it’s always a hit with everyone. Thanks for subscribing!


Leave a Reply

