Roasted Chicken (Pictorial)

This is The Best Homemade Roasted Chicken I’ve Ever Eaten.  It’s extremely juicy, moist, falls off the bone, and the skin remained crispy–which is the best part.  I’ve been meaning to make it since I stumbled upon the recipe but the procrastinator/perfectionist in me stopped myself because I didn’t have the ingredients I wanted.  Regardless, I decided to go ahead with what I had on hand and it didn’t disappoint.

I rubbed the chicken with salt, black pepper, garlic powder, seasoning salt, Italian seasoning, thyme and rosemary and stuffed it with half a red onion and more rosemary and thyme and roasted it for 5.5 hours @ 250 degrees.  I added some seasoned potatoes, purple potatoes, carrots and onions at the halfway point and made some gravy out of the pan drippings.  The only change I would make next time is to marinate the chicken overnight.

Roasted Chicken Pictorial

Seasoned chicken waiting to be roasted

Sideview

2 hours later–notice the pan drippings

Seasoned vegetables–I love the purple potatoes

Laying on a bed of vegetables

Roasted chicken, cut up

Roasted vegetables

Gravy made from pan drippings

My dinner

Does anyone else crave turkey with all the trimmings when it’s nowhere near Thanksgivings?  I know I do!  This dinner is the closest I’ll get to a Thanksgiving dinner in August.  The next time I make roasted chicken, I’ll do a garlic mashed potatoes and stuffing.  Chong gives it 2 thumbs up and raves about how good it is.  It’s definitely going to show up on our dinner menu on a monthly basis now.

2 comments so far

  1. EmmerTT on

    Yumm. I don’t think we hmong people can ever take away our Chicken! haha. Instead of having Turkey for Thanksgiving, Chichen is what we have. Reminds me of thanksgiving 😀

    • adoseofmee on

      I love turkey! I’m actually planning on buying 2-3 when they go on sale so I can eat it post Thanksgiving. Chickens are a very close second.


Leave a Reply

