Zaub Paj/Chinese Mustard Green Stir-Fry

Zaub Paj literally translates to “vegetable” “flower”, respectfully, and is also known as Chinese Mustard Green.  It is one of the most common vegetable found in Hmong cuisine.  My mom had picked some from one of her various garden and gave me a bagful.  I was craving simple and delicious Hmong food so I made a quick stir fry with pork with a side of pepper and it was divine.  Sometimes, the simplest foods are the most fulfilling.

Zaub Paj (Chinese Mustard Green) and Pork Stir-Fry Pictorial

About 2 cups of pork, sliced thinly, cooking in 2 tbsp of oil + salt & black pepper

Fully cooked

Zaub Paj/Chinese Mustard Green

Add the zaub paj into the pot

Stir until the zaub paj is cooked (2-4 minutes) depending on how you tender you like your vegetables

My HUGE plate: rice, pork + zaub paj stir-fry + side of spicy crushed peppers

That’s a total of 2 ingredients, excluding oil, salt, and black pepper.  An easy, quick and delicious meal.

4 comments so far

  1. emmertt on

    The only vegie that i would fry with my meat are the zaub tau, or the peas plant, you know the ones where they are just blooming but haven’t bloomed the peas yet. I like those fry with meat or itself. When it comes to zaub paj, i like to boil mines. 😀 Ofcourse, everyone has their own ways of making food. 😀 I just like my zaub paj to be boiled than fry. Not sure why, probably because of my mom’s way of cooking. haha

    but that looks hecka good, especially with that pepper on teh side. I can see my self mixing it all together and just eating it like stir fry or somthing.

    • adoseofmee on

      I love pea tips, too! They’re so tender and delicious at that stage. I just had some last week at my parents’ house. I need to go visit my mom’s garden to see what’s growing (and to see what I can pick).

  2. Anonymous on

    Hi Mee, I really love this dish and tried to make it but I couldn’t swallow my zaub. How do you trim the Chinese Mustard Greens so they’re tender?

    • adoseofmee on

      If you don’t like the stem, you can just use the leaf part (which is my favorite part). Otherwise, if you cut/break the stem into smaller pieces, that will help soften the stem when it cooks. Let me know if this helps.


Leave a Reply

