Spicy Green Mango Salad

I love love love papaya salad, especially if it’s sour/spicy/salty.  Last summer, I don’t know how much papaya salad I consumed, but it felt like I was getting some once a week.  I always get it from Dragon Star, because the ladies over there always make some kick-butt papaya salad.  Every other papaya salad I’ve had from other people and other places pale in comparison, including mines.  But I’m getting a little bit tired of eating their papaya salad because the texture is so unappetizing to my mouth now.  I prefer to hand chop the papaya, even though it’s time consuming but you get better results.  It’s still good but I think I’ll save it for when I have a bad bad bad craving.

Spicy papaya salad

My other favorite spicy green salad is mango salad.  I was eating these at least 2x a month after my tonsillectomy.  They’re so much easier to make and anyone can make it.  Plus, it satisfies that sour/spicy/salty craving I have.

Spicy Green Mango Salad

Ingredients:

–  1 green mango

–  2 Thai chili peppers

–  fish sauce, to taste

Directions:

1.  Peel mango and chop into chunks.  Place the chopped mango in a bowl.  In a mortar and pestle, pound the chili peppers with salt and MSG.  Add to the mango.  Add fish sauce, stir and enjoy.

Spicy Green Mango Salad Pictorial

Green mango

Chopped into chunks

Add pepper (plus a sprinkling of dry chili powder)

Doesn’t that look scary delicious?

Chong isn’t a big fan of peppers so I usually eat this All By Myself.  He’ll sometimes look at me like I’m crazy when I’m eating this and trying to get the fire in my mouth under control.  : D

4 comments so far

  1. MaiBao on

    Mmmm… my mouth watered just looking at the pictures. I had spicy green mango salad yesterday. ^__^

  2. adoseofmee on

    I just went out and bought one today because of this post.

  3. emmertt on

    Dude, that green mango with the pepper too, *drools* I’m defintaly going to maek some now. My mouth is watering! haha

    • adoseofmee on

      I gave my mango away to my mom because we were going out of town for the weekend and I didn’t want it to go to waste. I had to go out and buy another one because I had mango remorse. Will definitely be eating it today!


Leave a Reply

