Spring Rolls

Finally, a spring roll post! Spring rolls are so easy to make, although the prep time is very time consuming, and I’d say they’re pretty healthy for you. For some reason, whenever Chong and I go to Saigon, I’d always want to order the make-your-own spring rolls for $9. That’s pretty expensive, considering that there’s only 5-7 wraps in there! I can make my own spring rolls for that amount of money–and I’d still have a ton of ingredients leftover.

Argh. Since I made this a few weeks ago, I lost track of my ingredients and measurements so bear with me on my guesstimations.

Spring Roll

Ingredients:

– 2-3 lbs of pork (shoulder or butt)
– 1 package of Asian BBQ powder (char siu)
– 1 cup water
– salt, to taste
– black pepper, to taste
– 1 bunch cilantro
– 3 carrots, grated
– 15 pieces of red lettuce, quartered
– 1 cooked pork meatloaf, julienned
– 1 package of rice wrappers
– 1 package rice vermicilli noodles, cooked according to the package

Directions:

1. In a large ziploc bag, mix the packet of Asian BBQ powder (char siu) with salt, black pepper, and water. Add the pork and marinade for 2-3 hours, or overnight.

2. Turn the oven to ‘Broil’ and place the pork in a pan. Broil the pork for 7-10 mins on each side, or until cooked. Transfer to a plate and let cool. Once cooled, slice thinly.

3. In a large bowl or cake pan (depending on the size of your rice paper), add 1/2 inch of hot water (cake pan) or 2 cups of hot water (bowl). Soak the rice paper in the hot water either by placing the whole wrapper in the water or soak 3/4 of the wrapper and rotate slowly. The rice paper just needs a few seconds in the water because it’ll soften up out of the water.

4. Lay the soft/wet rice paper on a plate and add the lettuce, noodles, carrots, cilantro, bbq pork, and pork meatloaf 1/4 from the edge.

5. Starting from the shorter edge, fold the rice paper over the ingredients, then roll it over once, then tuck in the left and right edges and continue rolling. *Like how you would roll egg rolls or a burrito*

It’s so much harder to try to explain how to make spring rolls than it is to show it. Next time, I’ll try to post a video of it up.

Spring Roll Pictorial

Package I used/Powder+salt+black pepper/Add water

Chunks of pork—>Marinading—>Ready to be broiled

Next time, more powder, less water and all in 1 bag

Noodles/Carrots, cilantro, bbq pork & julienned pork meatloaf/red leaf lettuce (uncut)

I’m in love with this wrapper.  It’s better than the kind I usually get (and it’s HUGE!)

Finished

I made about 20-25 spring rolls, with a lot of left over ingredients.  During the spring/summer, I love growing or buying my own fresh herbs from the Farmer’s Market and add mint and sweet or Thai basil and cucumber for a little crunch.  Some version include shrimp but Chong is allergic to shellfish so no shrimp for him.  Spring rolls are so easy to make and very refreshing.  I can’t wait until the weather gets warmer so I can have an excuse to make and eat more spring rolls.  : )

4 comments so far

  1. MaiBao on

    I love spring rolls, but hate making them. And the Three Ladies Brand is the best. It’s thick and won’t tear.

    • adoseofmee on

      I used to think that making spring rolls, or any other rolls, was a chore but now it’s kind of fun. Plus, I am not willing to pay $4 for two measly spring rolls. The Three Ladies Brand is now my absolute favorite and I’m not going back. I can’t believe it’s taken me this long to find out.

      • Zang on

        I tried the 3 ladies brand a few weeks ago after visiting your site and reading it on the PH forum. You’re right, they are the best so far! Thanks for sharing.

      • adoseofmee on

        You’re welcome. Glad you liked them, too.


Leave a Reply

