Hot Pot!

Chong and I had Hot Pot this weekend. It’s been on my long list of To Eat. Prepping wasn’t too bad. I had planned on making dumplings but I decided to forgo that idea so we could eat sooner. I hate when people rush me, especially when I’ve mentally planned out my agenda (hint: Chong). Although the broth was at a low simmer, when I poured it into the HP pot, I didn’t let the pot+broth to heat up so it took a while to cook the veggies+meat. And the potatoes? Don’t even ask me. I didn’t even get to eat them because they never cooked!

Tofu, leafy greens (spinach, bok choy, napa cabbage, watercress, & yuchoy), bean thread noodles

Beef meatballs/pork/beef, mushrooms, potatoes, & seafood mix

Slowly cooking away

The morning after (includes potatoes)

I have to admit, it is fun to dump add veggies and meat into the pot.  It’s a great way to socialize while waiting for the food to cook.  It’s even more fun to eat.  I had 4 different kinds of dipping sauces (not pictured) and Chong, Pua, and I had a blast trying new combinations.   The next day, I pre-cooked the potatoes and added it to my broth.  Then I added the slower-cooking veggies, meats and noodles, let the pot simmer til everything was almost cooked and then add the fast-cooking veggies and beef.  This was easier and faster and just as good.  Chong liked the tofu, bean thread noodles, meatballs, and beef while I liked the tofu, mushrooms, watercress, spinach, and potatoes.

I’d prefer something where I can have my grilled meats and soup at the same time, but unfortunately, Chong and I live in an apartment and don’t want to be kicked out just yet.  Maybe I’ll try this during the summer at my parents’ house.

1 comment so far

  1. emmertt on

    Omgawsh girl, that looks hecka good!!!


Leave a Reply

