Brazilian cheese bread aka pao de queijo

My brain just loves going on tangents. I was googling restaurants in Chicago (since Chong and I, along with some family and friends, will be going to Chicago during Memorial weekend) and reading restaurant reviews and websites when I found a Brazilian steakhouse near Chicago. That brought me back to when Chong and I went to Fogo de Chao and I first tasted their cheesebread. Oh.My.Goodness. Their cheesebread were SOOO good! Besides the all-you-can-eat meat, I remember their cheesebread and their water. So I googled up some recipes and wouldn’t you know it, I had almost everything except for the cheese. So after a hop, skip and jump, I came back with a package of Parmesan cheese to start my Brazilian cheesebread.

Pao de Queijo

Ingredients:

* 2 cups tapioca flour
* 1 1/4 cups milk
* 1/2 cup canola oil
* 1 tsp salt
* 2 eggs
* 12-14 oz parmesan cheese

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350.
2. Pour tapioca flour into a plastic bowl.
3. In a pot, bring the milk, oil and salt to a boil. Remove from heat.
4. Pour the milk and oil mixture into the flour and stir.
5. Let the dough rest for 15 minutes.
6. Stir the eggs and cheese into the dough and mix well.
7. Oil your hands and form the dough into golf-size balls and place on baking sheet.
8. Bake for 25-30 minutes, or until golden brown. Serve warm.

Brazilian Cheesebread aka Pao de Queijo Pictorial

Tapioca flour

Milk, oil & salt

Dough!

Dough + eggs

Plus cheese

Want to play ball?

Oven ready


Stomach ready

Dinner (pan-fried chicken breast, steamed broccoli & cheesebread)

These were good…but if I decide to make them again, I’d use more cheese and make them smaller.  The bread/dough was too elastic for my taste and I think that’s because I made them too big.  Next time, I’ll try baking them in my mini-muffin pan.


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

