Birthday Weekend Dinner Part II

Ok, I think I’ve gotten through the harder part of posting up pictorials.  So on with the dinner.  Along with Manicotti Alla Romana, there was:

Garlic bread

Yummy salad my sister got from her workplace

Cheese fondue

French bread to dip

Here’s a picture of my plate

And for dessert, along with the PB cake, there was:

To Chong, from Leng&Tia:  Peanut Butter Silk Pie (Perkins)

To me, from Pua&Matt: Strawberry Cheesecake (Cafe Latte)

Even though I gave away most of the cakes and pies, Chong and I still have a few remaining slices of pie and cheesecake left.  I don’t think we’re going to finish it so into the trash it goes.  : (  Even though they’re sooo good, we’re done eating dessert for a while.

Ah….fondue, how high my hopes were when I first heard of you.  After youtube-ing and googling recipes and store-hopping, I decided to go with the pre-made fondue vs. making my own because 1) it was cheaper and 2) less hassle.  I even bought 2 packs just in case it was a big hit.  Unfortunately, ding dong me didn’t really pay attention to the instructions on the package and only “cooked” the fondue for about 3-4 minutes instead of the recommended 10 minutes.  Hence, when we started dipping the bread into the cheese, it tasted very alcoholic-y because I hadn’t burned off the kirsch so fondue was ruined for everyone.

The next day, I reheated the fondue and cooked it for 10 minutes but I could still taste a hint of the kirsch in the cheese and it was not a pleasant taste.  So into the trash the rest of the fondue went.  We returned the other package and made French toast out of the other French bread we got.  I think that might be the last time we’re eating fondue, at least for a few years or so.  : |

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

