How Time Flies By!/Chinese Steamed Buns

Sometimes, time just seems to stand still, no matter what I do to pass it and sometimes, when I don’t want time to fly by so quickly, by the time I know it, 2 days have passed by already! Or is it just me and my mentality? Usually, if I’m waiting for something to happen or come, then the week goes by soooo slow but I can’t believe it’s already Saturday, and almost noon! Have to do some last minute shopping for tonight then come home and prep/cook my food. It’s going to be a yummy night! The menu for tonight will be: Italian salad (from my sister’s workplace), cheese fondue with French baguettes, Manicotti Alla Romana (stuffed manicotti), Peanut Butter cake (for Chong), and I’m assuming my cousin’s going to buy me a cheesecake since she told me not to make one for myself. Oh man, everything sounds so fattening but delicious! Ok, after all the good eats today (and whatever leftovers we have to finish), Chong and I are going to start (again) on our healthy lifestyles. We haven’t been working out since Christmas so it’s time to get back on track.

I made some Chinese Steamed Buns on Thursday and they were really good! I call them Galangbao and they’re a bread-like bun filled with meat. Asian stores and delis sell these for about $1.50 for a big bun but when you’re feeding a lot of people, it’s a lot cheaper to make your own. They’re pretty easy to make, it just takes a lot of prep time to make the filling, and it takes a little getting used to closing up the bun but it’s well worth it.

Chinese Steamed Bun/Galangbao

Ingredients:

-2 packages Chinese Steamed Bun flour
-2 cups milk
-2 tbsp oil
-3/4 c of sugar
-1.5 pounds ground pork
-1 bunch of green onion
-4 garlic cloves
-5 eggs, cooked
-1 package of Chinese sausage
-1 tbsp vinegar

Directions:

There are step-by-step instructions on how to make the buns and what to use for the filling and that’s what I followed so I’m basically rewriting the directions on here.

1. Pour the flour into a bowl and save 4 tablespoons of flour for later use.
2. Mix the flour with the milk, oil, and sugar and stir until well-blended.
3. Cover and let the dough rest for 15 minutes.
4. In the meantime, slice the green onions and chop up the garlic.
5. Mix the ground pork with the green onions and garlic and set aside.
6. Chop up the egg into quarters and set aside.
7. Slice the Chinese sausage into 1/2 inches (5 slices per sausage) and set aside.
8. Bring a pot of water to a boil and add 1 tbsp of vinegar.
9. Cut some wax paper or parchment paper (works better) into 2″ squares (I ended up making 16 buns).
10. Knead the dough for 3-5 minutes and cut into into 16 pieces.
11. Take a small lump of dough, flour your cutting board, and roll the dough flat (a little larger than the size of your palm).
12. Add a heaping spoonful of the ground pork mixture, 2 slices of eggs, and 2-3 sliced of Chinese sausage and bring the ends up together to close the bun.
13. Put on parchment paper.
14. Repeating steps 11-13 for the rest of the buns and when you have enough to fill the steamer (3-5 buns, depending on the size), cover with a lid and put the steamer on top of the boiling pot of water.
15. Steam for 20 minutes and enjoy when done.

**I’m still getting used to writing down my own instructions : )

Chinese Steamed Buns/Galangbao Pictorial

Bags of flour I used

Flour

4 tbsp of flour

Sugar, salt, & oil added to the flour

Add milk

Stir til mix

Ground pork, green onions, garlic, salt & black pepper

Mixed together

Quartered eggs

Chinese sausage

15 minutes later

Rolled (this was obviously too small)

Filled and ready to be steamed

Waiting for the steamer

Steaming away

Open sesame!

Dissected

Dissected part deux

Wrapped and ready to eat!

I haven’t made these in a while but OMG, I had forgotten how good home-made ones are!  I gave 9 to my parents and left 6 for us.  I think we still have 1 left in the fridge.  : )  Chong says he’s not tired of eating the Galangbao yet, but he will if I end up making it once a week (which I won’t).  He’ll probably take that to him for snack/lunch tomorrow.  I’m tired of eating them already.

Next time I make these, I won’t French cut the Chinese sausage because the rough edges made it harder to close up the buns.  Lesson learned.

1 comment so far

  1. mozemoua on

    hey I haven’t had the chance to come by your blog, but i saw that you did made the King Dumplings and boy yours sure does look good!

    I’ll be adding you to my blogroll if I havent yet, keep your blog coming along!


Leave a Reply

