Battle of the Breads Pictorials

It’s only the beginning of February and I can’t wait for summer to come! I love all the fresh vegetables and fruits that come along with the warmer months. Last year, I somehow ended up with so much zucchini that I didn’t know what else to make with it (besides stir-fries) so I found a great zucchini bread recipe and ended up baking tons of it for myself and my family and friends.

Zucchini Bread

Ingredients

  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 cups white sugar
  • 2 cups grated zucchini
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F ( 165 degrees C). Grease and flour two 8×4 inch loaf pans.
  2. In a large bowl, beat eggs until light and frothy. Mix in oil and sugar. Stir in zucchini and vanilla. Combine flour, cinnamon, soda, baking powder, salt and nuts; stir into the egg mixture. Divide batter into prepared pans.
  3. Bake for 60 to 70 minutes, or until done.

Zucchini Bread Pictorial

Dry ingredients (flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, & cinnamon

Wet ingredients (eggs, sugar, oil, & vanilla)

Stir wet ingredients, add grated zucchini and stir again

Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients

Mix well

Pour into 9 x 13 pan sprayed with Pam for Baking

1 hour later: a delicious golden brown bread

Unfortunately, I didn’t keep this for myself so I didn’t cut into the bread but you can see the green flecks of zucchini on the top so you know you’re getting your vegetables. Ah…I love having my family be my guinea pigs and I know they love it, too.

Speaking of bread, I fell in love with banana bread after my first attempt at making it. Who knew that baking sweet breads could be so easy? After a few attempts and trying out 2 recipes, I’ve finally found my perfect banana bread recipe. It comes out moist and delicious every time! Trust me, I’ve made this bread about 30 times within 2 years.

Banana Bread

Ingredients

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 5 tablespoons milk or buttermilk
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup margarine
  • 1 cup mashed bananas
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts (optional)

Directions

  1. Sift together flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt.
  2. In a large bowl, cream sugar and butter or margarine. Beat the egg slightly, and mix into the creamed mixture with the bananas. Mix in sifted ingredients until just combined. Stir in milk and nuts. Spread batter into one greased and floured 9×5 inch loaf pan.
  3. Bake at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) for 50 minutes.

Banana Bread Pictorial

Oops, I microwaved my butter a bit too long

Add brown sugar

Cream together

Such a lonely egg, isn’t it?

Mixed in

Add buttermilk

Add mashed bananas

Stir

Add dry ingredients

Pretty, isn’t it?

Ready to be baked!

A long 50 minutes later…

Care for a slice?

Okay, I saved the best (at least, according to DH) for last. Who doesn’t love a sugary-cinnamonny piece of Monkey Bread?!?!?! I first made this for DH for brunch and he fell in love with it. This is now one of his favorite breakfast food.

Monkey Bread

Ingredients

  • 3 (12 ounce) packages refrigerated biscuit dough
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup margarine or butter
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts (optional)
  • 1/2 cup raisins (optional)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease one 9 or 10 inch tube/Bundt® pan.
  2. Mix white sugar and cinnamon in a plastic bag. Cut biscuits into quarters. Shake 6 to 8 biscuit pieces in the sugar cinnamon mix. Arrange pieces in the bottom of the prepared pan. Continue until all biscuits are coated and placed in pan. If using nuts and raisins, arrange them in and among the biscuit pieces as you go along.
  3. In a small saucepan, melt the margarine or butter over medium heat. Boil for 1 minute. Pour over the biscuits.
  4. Bake at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) for 35 minutes. Let bread cool in pan for 10 minutes, then turn out onto a plate. Do not cut! The bread just pulls apart.

Monkey Bread Pictorial

I just couldn’t resist buying this cute mini-bundt pan

I only used 2 cans of biscuits

Quartered

Cinnamon-sugar mixture

Rolled in cinnasugar

Almost ready for the oven

Melted butter (I used the microwave)

Pour into dough

Baked

Cooling

Close-up

Plated

I love Monkey Bread because 1) it’s so easy to make 2) Anyone can make it and 3) it tastes good! Yum…look at that buttery, golden deliciousness!

1 comment so far

  1. Zucchini Bread Video « A Dose Of Mee on

    […] Wednesday, July 21, 2010 by adoseofmee Leave a Comment If you can’t tell that it’s summer by the hot weather we’ve having then you can surely tell by what vegetables are in season.  I got some zucchinis from the Farmer’s Market just to make zucchini bread.  Enjoy!  Here’s the Zucchini Bread pictorial. […]


Leave a Reply

