Too Much Chocolate Cake

Sorry for the long hiatus, everyone.  I’ve been busy trying to get things in order.  It’s still a work in progress.  I haven’t been cooking or baking lately so I’ll be backlogging recipes for a while.  I have plans on making steamed rice rolls and papaya salad today so if I have time, I’ll take pictures.

I made some Too Much Chocolate (Cake) Cupcakes for my niece’s 5th birthday last month because she 1) loves chocolate and 2) I wanted to make something that would fit her appetite. She loved her cupcakes and her presents that Chong and I gave her, especially her little fingerless gloves.

Too Much Chocolate Cake/Cupcakes

Ingredients

* 1 (18.25 ounce) package devil’s food cake mix
* 1 (5.9 ounce) package instant chocolate pudding mix
* 1 cup sour cream
* 1 cup vegetable oil
* 4 eggs
* 1/2 cup warm water
* 2 cups semisweet chocolate chips

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
2. In a large bowl, mix together the cake and pudding mixes, sour cream, oil, beaten eggs and water. Stir in the chocolate chips and pour batter into a well greased 12 cup bundt pan.
3. Bake for 50 to 55 minutes, or until top is springy to the touch and a wooden toothpick inserted comes out clean. Cool cake thoroughly in pan at least an hour and a half before inverting onto a plate If desired, dust the cake with powdered sugar.

Cake Mix

Jello-O Pudding

Cake mix + pudding mix

1 cup sour cream

4 eggs, beaten

Who says oil and water can't mix?

One big, happy, & messy family

Mixed

Add mini-chocolate chips

Ready to bake

Cupcake pan with cupcake liners

Filled using 1/4 c per cupcake

Fresh out of the oven

Resting on the cooling rack

Side view of cake

Top view of cake

Peanut Butter Chocolate Cupcakes (Chong loves anything PB)

I LOVE this version of chocolate cake.  It’s so moist and chocolate-ly and so versatile.  You can add whatever chips you prefer and whatever cake/pudding mix you like and it’ll still turn out perfect.  I haven’t tried it for white/yellow cake but let’s assume that it’ll turn out great also.

5 comments so far

  1. Peppermint on

    Oh, that looks so moist and delicious! I’ll have to try adding the extras. Normally, I’ll just bake how the box instructed.

    Thanks!

    • adoseofmee on

      That’s how I usually bake my box cakes, too, until I found this recipe. Now I only bake TMCC because it just tastes better than the usual box chocolate cake.

  2. […] -A dozen Too Much Chocolate Cupcakes […]

  3. Coco on

    Hi..I’ve been wanting to make your too
    Much chocolate cake and was wondering do I just pour the package in or I have I make the pudding? All these years, I still look back to your recipes, but never had time to make any or just too lazy lol. I enjoy your blogs and food. Thanks!

    • adoseofmee on

      Hi Coco,

      You can pretty much dump all the ingredients together, mix and bake. It really is that simple. No need to pre-make the pudding or cake first. Let me know if you still have questions. I’m planning on making a video for this once I get settled in.


Leave a Reply

