Good Morning!

Actually, it’s not that good of a morning.  I knew I was probably coming down with something last night because I had the sniffles and guess what, I’m congested and have a stuffy nose today.  Maybe I jinxed myself, who knows?  I fell asleep on the couch at 11 PM last night because Chong wasn’t ready for bed.  He was watching Fracture until 1:30 AM and then woke me up to go to bed.  He sure loves his weekends.  As of 10:20 AM, he’s still snoring away!  He loves to sleep in, unless I make him wake up.  Haha. I notice that we have different weekend schedules.  Chong wants to sleep in til noon (or later) while I always end up waking early, especially if it’s during spring/summer.  Plus, when my body wakes up, it’s hard for me to fall back to sleep, which is the complete opposite for Chong.

I wanted to make cinnamon rolls for breakfast but the recipe calls for room temperature eggs.  So the eggs have been “thawing” for an hour now and they’re still semi-cold.  If I get too impatient, I’m going to just use them as is.

Thanks to watching America’s Test Kitchen (I love that show), I was craving homemade pizza last night.  Went out and bought some ingredients and made my own supreme pizza.  It was pretty good…except I didn’t add enough flour to the dough, hence it was really sticky after it had rested for 1 hour and I couldn’t roll it out.  And since the recipe was for 2 pan size pizzas, I decided that since I was making a 13×9 pizza, it’d be okay to use the whole entire batch.  BAD IDEA!  The pizza ROSE and the dough was really thick, about 1 inch high.  Other than that, it was really good!  The bottom and edges were nice and crispy and the dough was cooked though.  Next time, I’ll use less dough and more ingredients.

Still waiting for the eggs…..

—Updated at 6 PM—

Supreme Pizza

The Story of A Cinnamon Bun

I never imagined how hard it would take to make these!  First attempt at proofing yeast in warm milk = FAIL.  I’m assuming that the milk was too hot and killed the yeast.

Nothing, just plain milk

Second attempt = FAIL.  I think I let the milk cool too long and it wasn’t warm enough to proof the yeast.  Third attempt, I heated up the milk, made sure it was lukewarm, added yeast and 1 tspn of sugar and TADA, it came out perfect!

Finally!  Secret: sugar!

I poured in my flour, sugar, and melted butter and stirred.  The dough felt really dry but I didn’t realize what was wrong with it at that moment……..until I saw went back and read some member’s comments, and realized that I forgot to add the EGGS!  The EGGS that I’ve been waiting all morning to warm up!  Ugh!

That’s some dry dough

Fourth attempt, milk wasn’t warm enough!!!  So poured it out and started on my last and fifth batch.  It finally came out the way I wanted it.  Added eggs, melted butter, and sugar and stirred.  Then I added my flour into my mixture.

Fifth and final attempt…it’s starting to look good

Whew…big sigh of relief

1 hour later…

Rolled out, spread with butter, brown sugar & cinnamon

Rolled up

Sliced

30 mins later

Baked it for 15 mins and spread cinnamon buns with cream cheese frosting.

Yummy!

The picture is blurry but I’ve got to say, those 12.5 teaspoons of yeast, 9 cups of flour, 5 cups of milk, and 4 fours of frustation sure tasted good!  Sighs.  I’m kind of sad that I ended up using A LOT of yeast to make these cinnamon buns turn out but it’s a good start.  They were so soft and delicious.  I will definitely make these again except I’ll take my time and make sure I only do it the first time!

2 comments so far

  1. bonzkelly on

    OMG! I went flipping through your page and I swear I gained 20 lbs! Everything looks so good!! I’m not close to a cook like you, but I love what you have done with this site! Thanks for sharing the recipes and providing pictures! You should do videos!!

    • adoseofmee on

      Thank you. I learned how to cook from my mom at a young age and have been cooking ever since. I think I got better when I went off to college. ; ) Well, at least, that’s when I started getting into baking and experimenting with recipes. But like with everything else, there’s always room to grow. Keep on cooking and you’ll get better. I don’t have a video camera so pictorials will have to do for now.


Leave a Reply

